Wednesday, April 29, 2009

Can I sneak a second person into a Japanese hotel to avoid the double-occupancy price?

I've noticed that nearly all hotel or ryokan prices are per person in Japan. And the per person price is the same if it's just one person or two. So the overall price is double when there's two people staying in one room. This seems like a rip off. Does anyone have experience paying for just one person but then sneaking in a second?


What's the point , rates here are per room twin share - it's dishonest and also saves you nothing doing it the way you suggest. Check these prices out and compare with the single rates :

http://www.cheaperthanhotels.com/Japan/

http://www.equavista.com/japan/

... the discounts are worth more than trying to do things the way you suggest and risking problems and bad etiquette.

It depends on the place. Some places charge for the room and allow 2 people. Adding more than that, they'll just charge you for another 2 people so you should've just gotten 2 rooms to begin with. I learned that lesson the hard way. That's why I'd call them and ask for sure and if they are going to charge you by the person, making the room double if 2 people stay, then call around to find somewhere that doesn't do that. If you are at a ryokan or a smaller place, I think it would be difficult to sneak in someone to stay as "visitors" might not be able to get past the lobby or when they deliver the food to your ryokan room you will be busted when they see "visitors". One thing you might try for a larger place is to never be seen together. Both act like guests, not visitors.

Can't you see that you give a good reason for them to dislike foreigners? Why don't you follow the rule as Japanese do? I'm living as an expat in Japan, and other expats and I often feel small thanks to thoughtless tourists like you.

act like you are a costumer and walk by the resorption's desk then go back and book for one. then tell your friend and give him the room number and...walla! your in!

Yes, just say he is a guest? it works on americans, why wouldnt it work on the silly japanese?

Cheapskate!

It is a crime that you are going to do it.

You may be arrested by the police if it was found out.

well go ahead and sneak someone in and when u get caught just say oh sorry thought i payed for both of us cause it was alot of money or something like that

No comments:

Post a Comment