Saturday, April 25, 2009

What do you thiunk about hotel housekeeping job?

Hi guys. I want to work as a hotel housekeeper. What do you think about this job?


dont take the job if you dont like cleaning..

i saw a special on t.v. on how they just wipe the stuff [used cups] instead of washing then =/

It's got to be hard work, I couldn't do it, but that doesn't mean you can't. Go for it, it can't hurt to try, if it's not for you, just be kind enough, to give them your two week's notice and quit.

I once did that kiind of work, and let me tell ya, For the money they pay to do that type of work, its not worth it. It is hard work and you have to be fast at what you do, plus do a good job. thoroughly clean the bathrooms and make beds perfectly to their requierments. Its just not worth the money that they will pay ya, but it is better then no job at alll and if your in good health and can work on a fast pace, then it would be perfect for you.

I've thought about doing this job myself from time to time. I love to clean - I'm not big on socializing, and enjoy having time to myself!

I think it'd be great - the only thing that sucks is the pay is pretty poor at least where I live.

its good for maybe a start, or for a stepping stone to something you really want to do.

I did housekeeping for 2 years. The pay isn't that great, and people tend to leave bigger messes than they do tips, so sometimes it can really be frustrating. But I love cleaning. I love seeing a job well done. And that's why I did it for so long.

It's also a very humbling experience. When you're cleaning up, literally, peoples' crap, it makes you realize that even if you get a better job in the future, you shouldn't ever get on a high horse. You busted your butt doing something that some other prissy girl wouldn't do. And that makes me feel proud that I can say that I wasn't too good to do a dirty job.

I had to stop doing it though, because I have a bad back. If you are young, I'd recommend the job, but it's a lot tougher on older housekeepers. Some hotels are worse than others with what they expect you to do in a short period of time. I know some hotels expect their housekeepers to do 15 rooms in a day, and to me, that's just too much.

One good part of the job though is that you don't have to work in customer service (directly with guests) most of the time. You're on your own or with another partner during the day, and sometimes you can play the radio or the TV. You get to talk to your co-workers (gossip mostly, right?) and fold towels into animal shapes and flowers. The bottom line is though, you have to really like cleaning.

Hope this helps!

Sure, why not. If it gets you the money you need for life.

Fine if you want to spend the rest of your life cleaning up other peoples' messes!

No comments:

Post a Comment