Tuesday, May 5, 2009

What does the general population think about being a Housekeeper in a hotel?

I just checked out of my Hotel today, and I saw a Housekeeper cleaning one of the elevators. She was real pleasant, and nice to me. Do people look down on Housekeepers, or do they have respect for them? Personally, I couldn't care less what your profession is, as long as you are a decent and honest person. And please, no smart or rude answers.


I used to be the Front Desk Manager in a hotel. I occassionally had to do housekeeping duty late at night when we needed a room turned over quickly. It is a very hard job. I would never want to do it full-time. Housekeepers are paid very little, are on their feet all day, and are expected to turn over (completely clean) a room in as little as 15 minutes. I have tremendous respect for anyone who works that hard.

we all need jobs.unless we are trained for 2nd gen welfare. if someone does not do that job what will we do ? give her a tip and tell her GOOD JOB!!!

to have decent living you can do any work. nothing wrong to work as a house keeper if you need to run your life and you need money.

anyone who is willing to do a job that I couldn't and do it with a smile everyday gets my respect. it shows that they're doing what they need to do to get by, pay the bills, put food on the table. a**holes with access to daddy's credit card and mummy's good graces deserve a swift kick to the head, reapeatedly.

no i don't look down at housekeeping because me my daughter and my son's girlfriend have all done houkeing and we all liked it

In my opinion, Housekeepers are the greatest people around!! I mean, who could disagree? First of all, if there were no Housekeepers to clean the Hotel, then we wouldn't have clean rooms, and nice accommodations. Second, all of the Housekeepers that I have encountered have been really nice, outgoing, and sweet. They have GREAT personalities! Third, they have to stand on their feet almost ALL day, and they don't get paid for the effort, and the hard work,( Not like they should be getting paid). And last, I think that Housekeepers are great people because when you need or want something, they are instantly there to get it for you. I mean, sure, that's their job, but who says that when they do bring something extra up to your room for you that they have to bring it with a smile? To me, that it even more rewarding than to actually receive the merchandise that I have requested.

Genereally not many people place value for them!

To me, everybody worth a job; each job (not illegal one) has its value.

It's nice and very kind of you to put your eyes on them while some don't even care! The world is not fair. Oops! It's like that so far.

I agree with you 100%. As long as the person is honest and does a good job, I could care less what your profession is. I have a regular Hampton Inn I stay at for business, and the cleaning staff has been great. It's kind of funny, as they weren't taking the tip money I left them the first few times I stayed.

I'm 18 and I started my own cleaning business. I don't clean at hotels, but I do houses around my area. I make anywhere from $10-25 an hour....a lot of people who are 30 don't even make $25 an hour. I think cleaning is great. All of my clients have a lot of respect for me and trust me with their belongings. I've never stolen anything out of anyone's home----even when I saw a safe open in a closet full of $100 bills.

I used to be a housekeeper in a small motel a mom and pop business . Its very hard work but very rewarding if you like to help people and clean up .sometime we'd get some real piggy people but its the one who are nice to you and appreciate your work that make it rewarding

No comments:

Post a Comment